With roads that commuters and large vehicles carrying goods both use for transportation, Saugus, Massachusetts is a high-risk car crash area. Following a car accident in Saugus, seeking legal help as soon as possible is key for recovering damages. Deborah Gold-Alexander Attorney at Law can help you if you’re a car accident victim – here’s what you need to know about what to do next:
Massachusetts Laws for Filing a Claim
The state of Massachusetts follows a no-fault car insurance system. This means that after a car accident, the majority of motorists will be required to file a claim with their own insurance company’s PIP coverage, not the insurance company of the other driver involved.
However, there some exceptions to the no-fault law; Massachusetts does allow injured motorists to take legal action outside of the no-fault system when damages total more than $2,000, or when injuries are considered to be both serious and permanent. What’s more, the other driver’s insurance may be required to pay for your injuries if it is found that the other driver was more than 50 percent at fault.
The Importance of Proving Fault
If your injuries are severe or if the accident was less than 50 percent your fault, proving the negligence of the other driver will be extremely important to recovering damages. Negligence, or an action that’s considered unreasonable and unsafe, is the standard that’s used to hold another person liable for your injuries. Examples of negligence include:
- Drunk driving;
- Driving while distracted;
- Using a cell phone;
- Running a red light; or/and
- Any other violation of traffic laws.
To prove negligence and fault, you’ll need to collect as much evidence as possible following your accident. This may include photos of damages, medical bills, police reports, witness testimony, and more.
Help! How do I file a claim or a lawsuit?
Filing your personal injury claim or lawsuit in a timely manner is of the utmost importance. In Massachusetts, you’re limited to three years’ time under Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 260. To file your claim or lawsuit, you’ll want to notify your insurance company of the accident as soon as possible after your accident – if you don’t have insurance, you’ll want to meet with an attorney immediately to consider filing a lawsuit directly against the at-fault driver.
Next, you’ll need to present evidence of the other driver’s fault, as well as the extent of the damages you’ve suffered. If injuries are severe, you’ll also be entitled to damages for pain and suffering, lost wages, and more.
Take Action Now by Calling a Saugus Car Accident Attorney
To take action now, call Deborah Gold-Alexander Attorney at Law today. With nearly 30 years’ experience, our legal team is ready to get to work on your behalf starting now. Schedule your initial free case consultation by calling 781-289-4235.