4 Things You Need to Know if You Get in a Car Accident in Saugus

Car accidents are terrifying. And what’s often equally as overwhelming is trying to figure out what you’re supposed to do after your car accident, and how you’ll pay for your damages and injuries. Following a car accident in Saugus, Massachusetts, make sure know these four important things, and call Deborah Gold-Alexander Attorney at Law for a free legal consultation.

  1. The Details of Your Insurance Policy

The details of your insurance policy will be one of the most important things you need to know in order to file a claim and get your full damages amount. In Massachusetts, you’re required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage in an amount of no less than $8,000, as well as bodily injury liability coverage in amounts of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. However, if you’ve purchased coverage beyond the minimum requirements, this may be key in getting the total cost of your injuries covered.

  1. The Extent of Your Injuries

 

Even if you don’t think that your injuries are severe or need immediate medical attention, you should visit a doctor as soon as possible following your accident. Some injuries—like whiplash or a concussion—can be appear mild upon initially being sustained, but then worsen with time. The extent of your injuries—and the medical documentation to prove it—will be key in the amount of compensation you get. What’s more, if your injuries are severe, you also have the right to step out of the insurance system to pursue a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault party.

  1. Who Was At-fault

While some car accidents will fall under the state’s no-fault insurance system, who was at-fault will be important for others. If you believe that your accident wouldn’t not have been caused but for the actions of another driver, you’ll need to prove it. To prove fault, you should start gathering evidence as soon as possible that demonstrates the other driver’s negligence. And remember, if you were partially at-fault, too, then your damages amount may be reduced per the state’s comparative negligence laws. As such, you’ll need to do whatever it takes to prove that the accident was not contributed to by your own negligence.

  1. You Need an Attorney

Even if you just plan on filing a claim with your insurance company, you’ll still want an attorney by your side. An attorney will guide you during the process of negotiating for a fair settlement amount, filing your claim in time, and submitting all of your medical evidence to substantiate damages.

Deborah Gold-Alexander Attorney at Law knows what it takes to put together a winning claim. To learn more about how this attorney can help you in getting compensated after a car accident, call 781-289-4235 for a free case consultation today.

Loading Facebook Comments ...